Wild and Wacky World of WordPress

Posted on April 6, 2013. Filed under: Blogging, writing | Tags: , , , , |

Fortunately, the piece yesterday was written before I took a look at what people are writing when they are writing about writing on WordPress.

To be sure, almost everything I read was either wittier or funnier or more visually appealing that what I did. And, that makes a point to me: had I read that stuff first, the ideas I had would have been snuffed out before they made it to paper, er, silicon er, whatever.

In the language of psychology, I would have been “primed.” And, then, I would have been writing about people who are writing about writing on WordPress. And, who would want to read that?

But, as usual, I have discovered several interesting things that have caught me eye.

The first is NaPoWriMo: The National Poetry Writing Month. I am not a poet, but the exercise seems interesting. See, also: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Poetry_Writing_Month

The second is “The Writing Corporation.” This looks interesting, and I want to see more of what they have to say.

Third, I had a comment from Christine Bissonnette of The Positivity Project. Thank you for the kind thoughts and the great ideas!

My focus, at this time, will be shifting away from Nanowrimo. I will come back to it, but for now I will be focusing on (1) writing exercises, (2) interesting commentary about writing that I find on WordPress, and (3) professional writing. Almost all of my writing has been in this third category, and I will be exploring the world of publishing in peer-reviewed academic journals.  However, I am easily pulled away by interesting ideas that catch my fancy, so who can say what wonderings I might be posting here?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Wild and Wacky World of WordPress”

RSS Feed for Seer Ovum: Beginning of Insight (A Writer’s Blog) Comments RSS Feed

I try to avoid comparing my work to others, it will always lead to feeling inadequate, no matter how good you are.
(Unless you find a truly awful writer and then you simply end up feeling far too smug with yourself.)

That’s a good point and similar to the one that I am making. Comparisons are inevitable; they are part of our perceptual wiring. See, also: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Contrast_effect My point is that any reading of WP before I write will color my writing due to priming. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Priming_%28psychology%29


I have encountered your idea in other places. While I find it very appealing, and try to live by such an approach to the best of my ability, I find that the comparisons creep in anyway. Sometimes they do so in ways that are “interesting” and even humorous.


The classic one would be some yoga classes. The teacher offers the pleasant notion that “you can only work on your own body” and “you should not compare yourself to others.” But most of the people in the class are female, and I look a bit burly so I cannot help but stand out. I think that the Hemingway-ish beard might be a contributor. (Note that I am only comparing my beard, and not my writing, to Hemingway.) I could be wrong, but I am left with the impression that comparisons are being made. And, I am not the only target but often the most obvious one. But, I often see other dramas emerge from comparison.


One looks at the other and asks in an innocent sounding tone, where did you get that leotard. When I was younger I would miss that. But, now I know it is the “non-competitive” yoga class equivalent of “where did you get those shoes.” (In reality, anything but non-competitive.) See, also: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_K1ZUvI13nw I agree with you about this: “it will always lead to feeling inadequate, no matter how good you are.” It is the stuff “Mean Girls” is made from, and it happens even in “non-competitive” yoga classes. (I think there is a GREAT story hidden away in here. Are you going to write it, or am I?)


And, I think this guy has some good points: http://ezinearticles.com/?What-Matters-Most?-The-Competition-Or-the-Comparison?&id=4036628


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

