Steam of Consciousness (and Personal Vaporware)

Posted on April 7, 2013. Filed under: Blogging, writing | Tags: , , , , , , |

Looking back at a few exercises, I wrote the “misspelling” of “stream of consciousness” as “steam of consciousness.” At first, I immediately corrected it. After all, we have to “get it right,” don’t we?

But, then I realized that maybe what I write is better characterized as “steam of consciousness.” That’s really true if I am mad about something, but I also see it as the vapors coming off a lake on some cold morning early before the sun has fully risen. With my consciousness not fully intact, or arguably simply at a different level, the words seem to lift away like the steam wafting upwards away from the lake to a home in the clouds.

That’s it. The lake of my unprocessed thoughts and emotions sputters out words and sentences and sometimes more through the morning resistance as I ponder what I should be doing that day and what I might actually accomplish. Invariably my ambition outstrips my capacity. So the steam of ideas comes forth like so much personal vaporware, drafting plans that are bold in concept but sometimes not so much more than that.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

